跳至主要内容
临床试验/NCT00529373
NCT00529373终止3 期

A Phase III Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Clinical Trial to Assess the Safety and Efficacy of Odanacatib (MK-0822) to Reduce the Risk of Fracture in Osteoporotic Postmenopausal Women Treated With Vitamin D and Calcium

Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC0 个研究点目标入组 16,071 人开始时间: 2007年9月13日最近更新:
适应症
干预措施
相关药物

试验速览

阶段
3 期
状态
终止
入组人数
16,071
主要终点
Base Study: Time From Baseline to First Morphometrically-Assessed Vertebral Fracture

研究概览

简要总结

The purpose of the event-driven base study is to determine the safety and efficacy, especially fracture risk reduction, of odanacatib in postmenopausal women diagnosed with osteoporosis. In a placebo-controlled extension of the base study, participants continued to receive the same blinded study medication for a total of up to 5 years of blinded study medication combined between the base study and the extension. After participants received 5 years of blinded study medication, they received open-label odanacatib through the end of the first extension. Participants were then invited to enroll in a second extension study in which they received open-label odanacatib for an additional 5 years. Two imaging substudies (PN032-Base/Extension and PN035) were conducted for participants in the MK-0822-018 Study. Additional safety information was collected for participants who discontinued from the base study or the blinded first extension in an observational follow-up study, MK-0822-083 (EudraCT number: 2007-002693-66) .

研究设计

研究类型
Interventional
分配方式
Randomized
干预模型
Parallel
主要目的
Treatment
盲法
Double (Participant, Investigator)

入排标准

年龄范围
65 Years 至 —(Older Adult)
性别
Female
接受健康志愿者

入选标准

  • Postmenopausal women (for at least 5 years) who are ≥65 years of age and have low bone mineral density
  • Ambulatory (able to walk)

排除标准

  • Must not be taking osteoporosis therapy or have a metabolic bone disorder other than osteoporosis
  • Has or has had a hip fracture
  • Currently participating in another drug study

研究组 & 干预措施

Odanacatib

Experimental

Participants receive 50 mg of blinded odanacatib weekly over the course of the base study and first extension study (5 years total), followed by 50 mg of open-label odanacatib weekly for 5 years. Participants also receive Vitamin D3 and open-label supplemental calcium so that total daily calcium intake (from both dietary and supplemental sources) is approximately 1200 mg.

干预措施: Odanacatib (Drug)

Odanacatib

Experimental

Participants receive 50 mg of blinded odanacatib weekly over the course of the base study and first extension study (5 years total), followed by 50 mg of open-label odanacatib weekly for 5 years. Participants also receive Vitamin D3 and open-label supplemental calcium so that total daily calcium intake (from both dietary and supplemental sources) is approximately 1200 mg.

干预措施: Vitamin D3 (Dietary Supplement)

Odanacatib

Experimental

Participants receive 50 mg of blinded odanacatib weekly over the course of the base study and first extension study (5 years total), followed by 50 mg of open-label odanacatib weekly for 5 years. Participants also receive Vitamin D3 and open-label supplemental calcium so that total daily calcium intake (from both dietary and supplemental sources) is approximately 1200 mg.

干预措施: Calcium carbonate (Dietary Supplement)

Placebo

Placebo Comparator

Participants receive blinded placebo to 50 mg of odanacatib weekly over the course of the base study and first extension study (5 years total), followed by 50 mg of open-label odanacatib weekly for 5 years. Participants also receive Vitamin D3 and open-label supplemental calcium so that total daily calcium intake (from both dietary and supplemental sources) is approximately 1200 mg.

干预措施: Placebo for Odanacatib (Drug)

Placebo

Placebo Comparator

Participants receive blinded placebo to 50 mg of odanacatib weekly over the course of the base study and first extension study (5 years total), followed by 50 mg of open-label odanacatib weekly for 5 years. Participants also receive Vitamin D3 and open-label supplemental calcium so that total daily calcium intake (from both dietary and supplemental sources) is approximately 1200 mg.

干预措施: Vitamin D3 (Dietary Supplement)

Placebo

Placebo Comparator

Participants receive blinded placebo to 50 mg of odanacatib weekly over the course of the base study and first extension study (5 years total), followed by 50 mg of open-label odanacatib weekly for 5 years. Participants also receive Vitamin D3 and open-label supplemental calcium so that total daily calcium intake (from both dietary and supplemental sources) is approximately 1200 mg.

干预措施: Calcium carbonate (Dietary Supplement)

结局指标

主要结局

Base Study: Time From Baseline to First Morphometrically-Assessed Vertebral Fracture

时间窗: Up to approximately 60 months of observation

Morphometric vertebral fractures were assessed by central adjudication on lumbar and thoracic spinal radiographs acquired at baseline and at Months 6, 12, and subsequent yearly time points. Incident fractures (i.e., occurring after baseline) in previously normal vertebral bodies and/or those occurring after baseline in previously fractured vertebral bodies (Genant semiquantitative \[SQ\] Grade 1-3) (T4 to L4) were confirmed by quantitative morphometric (QM) and either SQ or binary SQ (yes/no) methodologies. A time-to-event methodology was used to evaluate results: life-table estimates of the incidence proportion (cumulative incidence) of participants with at least one morphometric vertebral fracture were assessed at Months 6, 12, and subsequent yearly intervals; an interval-censored approach was then used to determine incidence rate (number of participants with a morphometric fracture per 100 person-years of follow-up).

Base Study: Time From Baseline to First Osteoporotic Clinical Hip Fracture (Adjudicated)

时间窗: Up to approximately 60 months of observation

Osteoporotic clinical hip fractures were confirmed by central adjudication using radiographic evidence on all symptomatic fractures reported as adverse experiences (excluding fractures of the fingers, toes, face, and skull). Hip fractures were fractures of the proximal femur confirmed as being located in the hip (i.e., sub-region not specified; cervical, and intertrochanteric). Osteoporotic (fragility) fractures did not include fractures with traumatic or pathological etiologies. A clinical fracture was defined as a fracture with clinical fracture-related symptoms (e.g., pain). A time-to-event methodology was used to evaluate results: the incidence rate of participants with fracture (number of participants with a fracture per 100 person-years of follow-up) is provided.

Base Study: Time From Baseline to First Osteoporotic Clinical Non-Vertebral Fracture (Adjudicated)

时间窗: Up to approximately 60 months of observation

Osteoporotic non-vertebral clinical fractures were confirmed by central adjudication using radiographic evidence on all symptomatic fractures reported as adverse experiences (excluding fractures of the fingers, toes, face, and skull). Non-vertebral fractures were assessed across multiple anatomical sites including clavicle, distal femur or shaft, fibula, hip, humerus, pelvis, radius, ribs, sacrum, tibia, ulna, and wrist. Osteoporotic (fragility) fractures did not include fractures with traumatic or pathological etiologies. A clinical fracture was defined as a fracture with clinical fracture-related symptoms (e.g., pain). A time-to-event methodology was used to evaluate results: the incidence rate of participants with fracture (number of participants with a fracture per 100 person-years of follow-up) is provided.

Base Study + First Extension: Time From Baseline to First Morphometrically-Assessed Vertebral Fracture

时间窗: Up to approximately 74 months of observation

Morphometric vertebral fractures were confirmed by central adjudication on lumbar and thoracic spinal radiographs acquired at baseline and at Months 6, 12, and subsequent yearly time points. Incident fractures (i.e., occurring after baseline) in previously normal vertebral bodies and/or those occurring after baseline in previously fractured vertebral bodies (Genant SQ Grade 1-3) (T4 to L4) were confirmed by QM and either SQ or binary SQ (yes/no) methodologies. A time-to-event methodology was used to evaluate results: life-table estimates of the incidence proportion (cumulative incidence) of participants with at least one morphometric vertebral fracture were assessed at Months 6, 12, and subsequent yearly intervals; an interval-censored approach was then used to determine incidence rate (number of participants with a morphometric fracture per 100 person-years of follow-up).

Base Study + First Extension: Time From Baseline to First Osteoporotic Clinical Hip Fracture (Adjudicated)

时间窗: Up to approximately 74 months of observation

Osteoporotic clinical hip fractures was confirmed by central adjudication using radiographic evidence on all symptomatic fractures reported as adverse experiences (excluding fractures of the fingers, toes, face, and skull). Hip fractures were fractures of the proximal femur confirmed as being located in the hip (i.e., sub-region not specified; cervical, and intertrochanteric). Osteoporotic (fragility) fractures did not include fractures with traumatic or pathological etiologies. A clinical fracture was defined as a fracture with clinical fracture-related symptoms (e.g., pain). A clinical fracture was defined as a fracture with clinical fracture-related symptoms (e.g., pain). A time-to-event methodology was used to evaluate results: the incidence rate of participants with fracture (number of participants with a fracture per 100 person-years of follow-up) is provided.

Imaging Substudy PN032-Base: Percent Change From Baseline in Volumetric Bone Mineral Density (vBMD) at the Lumbar Spine Using Quantitative Computed Tomography

时间窗: Baseline, Month 24

Compartment-specific effects of osteoporosis were assessed by measuring trabecular vBMD at the lumbar spine (L1 total vertebral body) using quantitative computed tomography. The percent change from baseline at Month 24 (base study) was then assessed using a longitudinal data analysis model including terms for treatment, stratum (prior vertebral fracture \[yes/no\]) and interaction between treatment and time as fixed effects (LS means weighted for stratum size).

Imaging Substudy PN032-Base + Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in vBMD at the Lumbar Spine Using Quantitative Computed Tomography

时间窗: Baseline, Month 60

Compartment-specific effects of osteoporosis were assessed by measuring trabecular vBMD at the lumbar spine (L1 total vertebral body) using quantitative computed tomography. The percent change from baseline at Month 60 (base study + extension study) was then assessed using a longitudinal data analysis model including terms for treatment, stratum (prior vertebral fracture \[yes/no\]) and interaction between treatment and time as fixed effects (LS means weighted for stratum size).

Base Study + First Extension: Time From Baseline to First Osteoporotic Clinical Non-Vertebral Fracture (Adjudicated)

时间窗: Up to approximately 74 months of observation

Osteoporotic non-vertebral clinical fractures were confirmed by central adjudication using radiographic evidence on all symptomatic fractures reported as adverse experiences (excluding fractures of the fingers, toes, face, and skull). Non-vertebral fractures were assessed across multiple anatomical sites including clavicle, distal femur and shaft, fibula, hip, humerus, pelvis, radius, ribs, sacrum, tibia, ulna, and wrist. Osteoporotic (fragility) fractures did not include fractures with traumatic or pathological etiologies. A clinical fracture was defined as a fracture with clinical fracture-related symptoms (e.g., pain). A time-to-event methodology was used to evaluate results: the incidence rate of participants with fracture (number of participants with a fracture per 100 person-years of follow-up) is provided.

Base Study + First Extension: Rate of Adverse Events

时间窗: Up to approximately 74 months of observation

An adverse event is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a person or clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. The incidence rate of participants with adverse events (number of participants with an event per 100 person-years of follow-up) is provided.

Base Study + First Extension: Rate of Discontinuations From Study Treatment Due to an Adverse Event

时间窗: Up to approximately 74 months of observation

An adverse event is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a person or clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. The incidence rate of participant discontinuations from treatment due to adverse events (number of participants with an event per 100 person-years of follow-up) is provided.

Base Study + First Extension + Second Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in Bone Mineral Density (BMD) Measurements of the Total Hip

时间窗: Baseline and once yearly, up to approximately 108 months of observation

BMD was measured by dual-energy x-ray absorptiometry (DXA) at the total hip starting at screening, and at yearly intervals until the end of the study (second extension study) for all participants who entered the second extension study. Least squares (LS) means percent change in BMD from original baseline are provided through Month 108 (Year 9). At Months 96 (Year 8) and 108 (Year 9), approximately 3% or fewer participants in each treatment group had BMD data, and results at those time points should be viewed with caution. NOTE: The mean percent change in BMD from baseline in participants originally randomized to placebo includes BMD results obtained after those participants were switched to open-label odanacatib, which occurred at different times relative to their start of blinded study medication in the base study.

Second Extension: Number of Participants Who Experienced an Adverse Event

时间窗: Up to approximately 34 months of observation

An adverse event is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a person or clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment.

Second Extension: Number of Participants Discontinuing Study Treatment Due to an Adverse Event

时间窗: Up to approximately 34 months of observation

An adverse event is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a person or clinical investigation participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment.

Sarcopenia Substudy PN035: Change From Baseline in Appendicular Lean Body Mass (aLBM)

时间窗: Baseline and once yearly up to 4 years

Sarcopenia is the age-related loss of skeletal muscle mass and associated loss of strength. Progression of sarcopenia was assessed using aLBM as measured by total body DXA. The change from baseline at yearly intervals was then assessed using a longitudinal data analysis model with terms for treatment, stratum (sarcopenia, non-sarcopenia), time and interaction between treatment and time as fixed effects (LS means weighted for stratum size).

Sarcopenia Substudy PN035: Change From Baseline in Short Physical Performance Battery (SPPB) Score

时间窗: Baseline and once yearly up to 4 years

The Short Physical Performance Battery (SPPB) Score is used to assess physical function in older persons. The SPPB consists of 3 types of physical activities: standing balance, gait speed, and chair rise. Component activities are timed and then reduced to a categorical 0 to 4 scale based on time achieved. A higher composite score (range 0 to 12) indicates an improved function level. The change from baseline at yearly intervals was then assessed using a longitudinal data analysis model with terms for treatment, stratum (sarcopenia, non-sarcopenia), time and interaction between treatment and time as fixed effects (LS means weighted for stratum size).

Sarcopenia Substudy PN035: Change From Baseline in Gait Speed

时间窗: Baseline and once yearly up to 4 years.

Gait speed is a component of the Short Physical Performance Battery (SPPB) Score. Participants are asked to walk a distance of 4 meters at their normal pace. The test is performed 2 times, and the walk done in the shortest time is used for scoring. The activity is timed and then reduced to a categorical 0 to 4 scale based on time achieved. Higher scores indicate an improved function level. The change from baseline at yearly intervals was then assessed using a longitudinal data analysis model with terms for treatment, stratum (sarcopenia, non-sarcopenia), time and interaction between treatment and time as fixed effects (LS means weighted for stratum size).

次要结局

  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base + Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in aBMD of the Femoral Neck Using DXA(Baseline, Month 60)
  • Base Study: Yearly Rate of Height Loss(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Time From Baseline to First Osteoporotic Clinical Vertebral Fracture (Adjudicated)(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Rate of Adverse Events(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Rate of Discontinuation From Study Treatment Due to an Adverse Event(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Number of Participants With Height Loss of > 1 cm(Baseline and once yearly, up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Total Hip(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly, up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Lumbar Spine(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly, approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Femoral Neck(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly, up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Trochanter(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly, up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Distal-Third Forearm(Baseline and once yearly, up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Lumbar Spine in Bisphosphonate-Intolerant Participants(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly, up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Total Hip in Bisphosphonate-Intolerant Participants(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly, up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Femoral Neck in Bisphosphonate-Intolerant Participants(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly, up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Trochanter in Bisphosphonate-Intolerant Participants(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly, up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Distal-Third Forearm in Bisphosphonate-Intolerant Participants(Baseline and once yearly, up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in Serum C-Telopeptides of Type I Collagen (s-CTx) After Log-Transformation(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly up to 4 years)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in Urinary N-Telopeptides of Type I Collagen/Creatinine (u-NTx/Cr) Ratio After Log-Transformation(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly up to 4 years)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in Bone-Specific Alkaline Phosphatase (BSAP) After Log-Transformation(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly up to 4 years)
  • Base Study: Percent Change From Baseline in N-Terminal Propeptide of Type 1 Collagen (P1NP) After Log-Transformation(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly up to 4 years)
  • Base Study: Time to First 3-Point Major Adverse Cardiac Event (MACE) Confirmed by Thrombolysis in Myocardial Infarction Study Group (TIMI) Adjudication(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Time to First New Onset Atrial Fibrillation or Atrial Flutter Confirmed by TIMI Adjudication(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Time to First 4-Point MACE Confirmed by TIMI Adjudication(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Time to First Hospitalization for Unstable Angina Confirmed by TIMI Adjudication(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Time to First New Onset ECG-Confirmed Atrial Fibrillation or Atrial Flutter Confirmed by TIMI Adjudication(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Time to First Any Atrial Fibrillation or Atrial Flutter Confirmed by TIMI Adjudication(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Time to First All-Cause Death Confirmed by TIMI Adjudication(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Time to First Cardiovascular Death Confirmed by TIMI Adjudication(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Time to First Fatal or Non-Fatal Myocardial Infarction Confirmed by TIMI Adjudication(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Time to First Fatal Myocardial Infarction Confirmed by TIMI Adjudication(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Time to First Fatal or Non-Fatal Stroke Confirmed by TIMI Adjudication(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study: Time to First Fatal Stroke Confirmed by TIMI Adjudication(Up to approximately 60 months of observation)
  • Base Study + First Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Femoral Neck(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly, up to approximately 74 months of observation)
  • Base Study + First Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Distal-Third Forearm(Baseline and once yearly, up to approximately 74 months of observation)
  • Base Study + First Extension: Time From Baseline to First Osteoporotic Clinical Vertebral Fracture (Adjudicated)(Up to approximately 74 months of observation)
  • Base Study + First Extension: Time From Baseline to First Osteoporotic Clinical Fracture (Adjudicated)(Up to approximately 74 months of observation)
  • Base Study + First Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Total Hip(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly, up to approximately 74 months of observation)
  • Base Study + First Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Trochanter(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly, up to approximately 74 months of observation)
  • Base Study + First Extension + Second Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Lumbar Spine(Baseline and once yearly, up to approximately 108 months of observation)
  • Base Study + First Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Lumbar Spine(Baseline, Month 6, and once yearly, up to approximately 74 months of observation)
  • Base Study + First Extension + Second Extension: Time From Baseline to First Morphometrically-Assessed Vertebral Fracture(Up to approximately 108 months of observation)
  • Base Study + First Extension + Second Extension: Change in Height From Baseline Stature(Baseline and once yearly, up to approximately 108 months of observation)
  • Base Study + First Extension + Second Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Femoral Neck(Baseline and once yearly, up to approximately 108 months of observation)
  • Base Study + First Extension + Second Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in BMD Measurements of the Trochanter(Baseline and once yearly, up to approximately 108 months of observation)
  • Second Extension: Incidence of Osteoporotic Clinical Lumbar Vertebral Fracture (Adjudicated)(Up to approximately 34 months of observation)
  • Second Extension: Incidence of Osteoporotic Clinical Thoracic Vertebral Fracture (Adjudicated)(Up to approximately 34 months of observation)
  • Second Extension: Time From Baseline to First Osteoporotic Clinical Fracture of Any Type (Adjudicated)(Up to approximately 34 months of observation)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base: Percent Change From Baseline in Cortical vBMD of the Total Hip Using Quantitative Computed Tomography(Baseline, Month 24)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base: Percent Change From Baseline in Areal BMD (aBMD) of the Lumbar Spine Using DXA(Baseline, Month 24)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base: Percent Change From Baseline in aBMD of the Femoral Neck Using DXA(Baseline, Month 24)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base: Percent Change From Baseline in aBMD of the Distal-Third Forearm Using DXA(Baseline, Month 24)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base: Percent Change From Baseline in aBMD of the Total Hip Using DXA(Baseline, Month 24)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base: Percent Change From Baseline in s-CTx After Log-Transformation(Baseline, Month 24)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base: Percent Change From Baseline in aBMD of the Trochanter Using DXA(Baseline, Month 24)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base: Percent Change From Baseline in BSAP After Log-Transformation(Baseline, Month 24)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base: Percent Change From Baseline in u-NTx/Cr Ratio After Log-Transformation(Baseline, Month 24)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base: Percent Change From Baseline in P1NP After Log-Transformation(Baseline, Month 24)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base + Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in Cortical vBMD of the Total Hip Using Quantitative Computed Tomography(Baseline, Month 60)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base + Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in aBMD of the Trochanter Using DXA(Baseline, Month 60)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base + Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in aBMD of the Lumbar Spine Using DXA(Baseline, Month 60)
  • Imaging Substudy PN032-Base + Extension: Percent Change From Baseline in aBMD of the Total Hip Using DXA(Baseline, Month 60)

研究者

申办方类型
Industry
责任方
Sponsor

相似试验